Faculty Senate Executive Committee Statement on the Death of George Floyd, Black Lives Matter, the University, and Social Justice

The violent deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, and so many others remind us that systemic racism continues to be a reality suffered by Black Americans within the United States. Black Lives Matter. We bear witness to the fact that the university does not exist independently from the racist society of which it is part. We must be better. As a university faculty and staff, we stand together with our students and our community committed to our duty as an institution of higher learning to create positive change through education and robust conversation. Consistent with the founding legacy of Washburn University, we are committed to continuing the difficult journey towards a fully inclusive community--an environment that supports open, challenging, and crucial conversations about marginalized populations, systemic oppression, justice, and equality. Non Nobis Solum. 

Number signed in support: 221
June 29, 2020

Committee Members 2020/2021 

  • Kim Morse (President) – CAS (SocSci)
  • Tonya Ricklefs (Vice President) - SAS
  • Shaun Schmidt (Parliamentarian) - CAS (NS/M)
  • Crystal Stevens (Secretary) - SON
  • Louella Moore
  • Marsha Griggs


Kim Morse, President

Tonya Ricklefs, Vice President
Social Work

Crystal Stevens, Secretary

Shaun Schmidt, Parliamentarian

Meeting Dates and Time

All meetings begin at 3:00 p.m unless otherwise noted.  All meetings will take place in the Forum Room in the Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center unless otherwise indicated. Dates for Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 meetings are as follows:

  • August 26, 2019
  • September 16, 2019
  • October 7, 2019
  • October 21, 2019
  • November 4, 2019
  • November 18, 2019
  • December 2, 2019
  • February 3, 2020
  • February 17, 2020
  • March 2, 2020
  • March 16, 2020
  • April 6, 2020
  • April 20, 2020
  • May 4, 2020

Current Agendas, Minutes, Action Items

Faculty Governance Information

Faculty Senate Constitution

Faculty Senate Members and Terms

Committee Members and Terms

  • Includes all university-level committees including Faculty Senate Committees, Faculty Committees, Advisory Committees, Presidential Committees, and Appointed Advisory Committees.

Faculty Governance Archived Information

back to top button