Faculty Senate Executive Committee Statement on the Death of George Floyd, Black Lives Matter, the University, and Social Justice

The violent deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, and so many others remind us that systemic racism continues to be a reality suffered by Black Americans within the United States. Black Lives Matter. We bear witness to the fact that the university does not exist independently from the racist society of which it is part. We must be better. As a university faculty and staff, we stand together with our students and our community committed to our duty as an institution of higher learning to create positive change through education and robust conversation. Consistent with the founding legacy of Washburn University, we are committed to continuing the difficult journey towards a fully inclusive community--an environment that supports open, challenging, and crucial conversations about marginalized populations, systemic oppression, justice, and equality. Non Nobis Solum. 

Number signed in support: 238
July 10, 2020

Committee Members 2020/2021 

  • Kim Morse (President) – CAS (SocSci)
  • Tonya Ricklefs (Vice President) - SAS
  • Shaun Schmidt (Parliamentarian) - CAS (NS/M)
  • Crystal Stevens (Secretary) - SON
  • Louella Moore
  • Marsha Grigg

Faculty Senate

Time: 3 pm
Location: Zoom video

  • August 31st
  • September 14th
  • September 28th
  • October 12th
  • October 26th
  • November 9th
  • November 30th
  • February 1st, 2021
  • February 15th, 2021
  • March 1st, 2021
  • March 15th, 2021
  • March 29th, 2021
  • April 12th, 2021
  • April 26th, 2021

Faculty Affairs Committee

Time: 4 pm
Location: Zoom video

  • September 21st
  • October 5th
  • October 19th
  • November 2nd
  • November 16th
  • February 8th, 2021
  • February 22nd  2021
  • March 22nd, 2021
  • April 5th, 2021
  • April 19th, 2021

Academic Affairs Committee

Time: 3 pm
Location: Zoom video

  • September 21st
  • October 5th
  • October 19th
  • November 2nd
  • November 16th
  • February 8th, 2021
  • February 22nd, 2021
  • March 22nd, 2021
  • April 5th, 2021
  • April 19th, 2021

Kim Morse, President
History
785.670.2059
kim.morse@washburn.edu

Tonya Ricklefs, Vice President
Social Work
785.670.1618
tonya.ricklefs@washburn.edu

Crystal Stevens, Secretary
Nursing
785.670.1421
crystal.stevens@washburn.edu

Shaun Schmidt, Parliamentarian
Chemistry
785.670.2265
shaun.schmidt@washburn.edu

2020-2021

Term Expires at the end of academic year 2021-2022 (14):

Paul Byrne – Business – paul.byrne@washburn.edu

Marsha Griggs - SOL - marsha.griggs@washburn.edu 

Kara Kendall-Morwick - CAS (Humanities) - kara.kendall-morwick@washburn.edu 

Alex Klales - CAS (SocSci) - alexandra.klales@washburn.edu 

Mark Kohls - SAS - mark.kohls@washburn.edu

Louella Moore - Business - At Large (Business) - louella.moore@washburn.edu 

Kim Morse (President) - CAS (SocSci) – kim.morse@washburn.edu  

Tonya Ricklefs (Vice President) – At Large (SAS) – tonya.ricklefs@washburn.edu

Mark Smith - CAS (NS/M) mark.smith2@washburn.edu 

Kelly Thor - At Large (CAS) - kelly.thor@washburn.edu 

Shane Vandalsem - Business - shane.vandalsem@washburn.edu

Tracy Wagner - CAS (NS/M) - tracy.wagner@washburn.edu

Stephen Woody - Mabee - stephen.woody@washburn.edu 

Kerry Wynn – CAS (SocSci) – kerry.wynn@washburn.edu


Term Expires at the end of academic year 2020-2021 (17):

Lara Brooks - CAS (C&P) - lara.brooks@washburn.edu 

Sarah Cook – CAS (NS/M) – sarah.cook@washburn.edu

Beck Dodge - SAS - becky.dodge@washburn.edu 

Lisa Douglass - CAS (Ed/KN) - lisa.douglass@washburn.edu 

Ross Friesen - CAS (Ed/KN) - ross.friesen@washburn.edu 

Erin Grant  - SAS – erin.grant@washburn.edu

Kelly Huff - CAS (C&P) - kelly.huff@washburn.edu 

Louise Krug - CAS (Humanities) – louise.krug@washburn.edu

Creighton Miller - Law library - creighton.miller@washburn.edu 

Thomas Romig - Law - thomas.romig@washburn.edu 

Scott Sainato - SAS - scott.sainato@washburn.edu 

Shaun Schmidt - CAS (NS/M) - shaun.schmidt@washburnl.edu 

Delaine Smith - Nursing - delaine.smith@washburn.edu 

Crystal Stevens (Secretary) - Nursing - crystal.stevens@washburn.edu 

Ye Wang - CAS (C&P) - ye.wang@washburn.edu 

Michelle Watson - SAS - michelle.watson@washburn.edu 

Corey Zwikstra - CAS (Humanities) - corey.zwikstra@washburn.edu 

back to top button