Areas of Study Schedule A Visit Virtual Tour Request Info Apply Now

Education Scholarships

Scholarships, in the form of tuition assistance, are available to students preparing to become Early Childhood Educators, Elementary Classroom Teachers, Secondary Classroom Teachers in all subject fields, and candidates for graduate degrees or advanced teaching licenses. 
Scholarships may cover the cost of a single course or an entire academic year. Amounts range form $300 to $2,500. 
Individuals become eligible for consideration for a departmental scholarship as soon as they meet all requirements for formal admission to the Professional Teacher Education program. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of both academic excellence and financial need. 
Links to the application forms-- Undergraduate Form and Graduate Form. Applications are considered by the Department Scholarship Committee each spring for the following term. 
Scholarships for Teacher Education Alumni (graduate students)

Named scholarships recognize: 

  • Converse-Bakalar
  • R. Joseph and Margaret Cox-Whelan
  • Florence Eckert
  • Martha Peyton Fensch
  • Dr. Kenneth E. and Cosma W. Godfrey
  • Delta Kappa Gamma
  • Cyrus K. Holliday
  • Martha Kittel
  • Gladys V. Houston
  • Nellie Elizabeth Griffith Jones Luse
  • Ella Scott McEchron
  • Esta M. Morgan
  • Virleen and Fred Morns
  • Delores Mueller
  • Lyndall and Glenda Mummert
  • National Education Association of Kansas
  • Nellie Ansel Obrecht
  • Phi Delta Kappa
  • Lala Tull Phillippi
  • Charles A. and Margaret W. Pollak
  • Bertha M. Rightmire
  • Judith Joss Sirridge
  • Sylvester A. Skoch
  • Nelly Fox Spangler
  • Topeka Area Retired Personnel Association
  • Mose J. and Erma F. WhitsonJames & Mildred Trinble Young
  • Edna Steele
  • Katie Louise Hanson
  • Rachel & Walter Hines
  • ML & Helen Dunham
  • Fred & Alice Lyon
  • Joyce Dryden-Damron
  • Lewis T. & Mary B. Mills
  • Benjamin & Helen Dirks

GET IN TOUCH WITH Department of Education

Department of Education
Carnegie Hall, Room 202
1700 SW College Ave.
Topeka, KS 66621

Phone & Email
Phone: 785.670.1427

Washburn University Tech Logo
Washburn University School Of Law

Washburn University prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, age, national origin, ancestry, disability, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, genetic information, veteran status, or marital or parental status. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Dr. Pamela Foster, Equal Opportunity Director/Title IX Coordinator, Washburn University, 1700 SW College Ave, Topeka, Kansas 66621, 785.670.1509,

Kansas Degree Stats
back to top button