Forrest Scene

Washburn students inducted into criminal justice honor society

Twenty-four Washburn University students have been inducted into Sigma Lambda, a criminal justice honor society.

Membership is based on academic merit and restricted to criminal justice majors who have completed 12 hours of criminal justice course work with a minimum 3.2 grade point average. In addition, an overall GPA of 3.2 is required for all course work completed at Washburn University and the member must be in good standing with the criminal justice department.

The mission of Sigma Lambda is to recognize and promote service and leadership in the classroom and community in order to prepare members for careers in the field of criminal justice. Sigma Lambda is sponsored by the Washburn Criminal Justice Association.

Students inducted, listed by hometowns, are:

  • Circleville: John Varney
  • Effingham: Ynacio Bautista
  • Great Bend: Randi McAfee
  • Hoxie: Tayler Hawks
  • Kansas City, Kan.: Kelsey Bliss
  • Lee’s Summit, Mo.: Tracy Ewert
  • Maple Hill: Loni Larson
  • Olathe: Kelsea Shellenberger
  • Paola: Rachel Burdgean
  • Salina: Kelsie Klotzbach
  • Scott City: Nicole Walker
  • Smith Center: Amanda M. Williams
  • Stilwell: Matt Holloway
  • Topeka:  Davis Atteberry, Madison Butler, Adrianna Cortez, Garrett Hebert, Kim Jackson, Shirley McCulley, Wyatt McKay, Jerry Viera, Allison Weir
  • Wamego:  Andrew Wahlmeier
  • Wellsville: Jesse D. Campell


Dena Anson, university relations, 785.670.1711