Forrest Scene

April 2013 News Releases

Recognition ceremony honors Washburn University employees

Washburn University employees received Outstanding Service Awards, a student life award and four faculty members were presented special honors and at the annual Washburn Recognition Ceremony April 16. Washburn employees who celebrated years of service milestones also were honored.

Outstanding Service Award winners and their categories were:

Administrative/technical/paraprofessional category:  Elaine Gill, assistant director of development and membership, KTWU; Phyllis Hoffman, voice services coordinator, information technology services

Secretarial/clerical category: Penny Fell, secretary III, School of Law; Jane Stewart, secretary III, registrar

Service/maintenance category:  Romona Herrera, custodial worker, facilities services; Guy Luebbe, gardener, facilities services

Muriel Clarke Student Life Award: Glenda Taylor, department chair and professor, art

Faculty receiving honors were:

Roy Myers Excellence in Research Award: Carolyn Carlson, assistant professor, education

Herrick Faculty Award for Outstanding Service:  Shirley Dinkel, director of student health services and associate professor, School of Nursing

Ned N. Fleming Excellence in Teaching Award:  Nan Palmer, professor, social work; and Michael Russell director, Washburn Transformational Experience, and associate professor, psychology

Staff recognized for years of service were:

5 years: Kandis Barker, Joan Bayens, Vicky Berry, Tami Boten, John Bredahl, Bobby Elbert, Matt Eppright, Lyall Ford, Tonya Grauberger, Kevin Halgren, Don Johnson, Chuck Kranz, Gwyn Nelson, Jessica Neumann Barraclough, Janet Radziejeski, Monique Robins, Janet Schneider, Louisa Schurig, William Sipes, Linda Smith, James Staehli and Jackie Tomes

10 years: Vicki Baer, Mildred Baker, Tim Collins, Kay Farley, Mike Forman, Nelda Gaito, Kevin Goodman, Chris Herron, Adrianne Johnson, Beth Kuhn, Ivy LaGrone, Marsha Madl, Nancy Province, Rob Robinson, Bethe Titsworth, Rhonda Thornburgh, David Trupp and Val VanDerSluis

15 years: Marta Barnett, Jerry Farley, John Haverty, Shirley Jacobson, Frank Lee, Mark Sohl and Lynn Wilson

20 years: Paula Inman, Mary Jordan, Esperanza Root and Sharon Urban

25 years: Leigh Ives, Norm Koester, Jill Monie, Mary Moses, Sue Peek and Kyle Riggles

30 years: Steve Ice and Meredith Kidd

35 years: Connie DiPasquale and Phyllis Hoffman

Faculty recognized for years of service were: 

5 years: Michael Averett, Jeanne Catanzaro, Erin Chamberlain, Sophie Delahaye, Karen Diaz Anchante, Karen Fernengel, Robert Flahart, Liviu Florea, Yvette Jenkins, Karen Kapusta-Pofahl, Bonnie Peterson, Fernando Pezzino, Keith Rocci, Janet Sharp, Jim Smith, Janet Todwong, Danny Wade, Kayla Waters and J. Harrison Watts

10 years: Alan Bearman, John Burns, Paul Byrne, Regina Cassell, Catherine Hunt, Kathryn Hupp, Gabriele Lunte, Kim Morse, Kevin O’Leary, John Paul, Marguerite Perret, Bassima Schbley, David Sollars, Maria Stover, Courtney Sullivan and Curtis Waugh

15 years: Sarah Cook, Lenora Edwards, William Gahnstrom, Debra Isaacson, Bruce Mactavish, Marilyn Masterson, Kathy Menzie, Mark Peterson, Tim Peterson and Azyz Sharafy

20 years: Jane Carpenter and Richard Martin

25 years: Maryellen McBride and Tom Morgan

30 years: Steven Black, Robert Boncella, William Dunlap, Liaquat Khan, William Roach, Jera Roberts, Roy Sheldon

35 years: Barry Crawford

40 years: Jim Concannon and Gary Forbach

45 years: James Rivers

50 years: Jim Hoogenakker

Eminentes Universitatis: Lynn Bailey, Linda Barnes, Beverlyn Brown, Connie Foltz, Sandra Kidd, Norm Koester and Arlene Leuszler

Emeriti: Dean Corwin, Linda Croucher, Judy Druse, Mo Godman, Jim Hoogenakker, Harold Rood and Mary Shoop

Visit for more information.


Contact: Amanda Hughes, university relations, 785-670-2153