Forrest Scene

October 2012 News Releases

Seneca student accepts national awards on behalf of Washburn's chapter of Mortar Board

Washburn University student Stacy Rottinghaus, of Seneca, recently accepted two awards on behalf of the Ichabod Chapter of Mortar Board while attending the organization’s national conference in Chicago.

Rottinghaus serves as president of Washburn’s chapter of Mortar Board, a national college senior honor society. She is a senior and is majoring in mathematics and statistics, with a concentration in secondary education.

The awards she accepted on behalf of the Chapter were:

The Silver Torch Award:  In recognition of the chapter’s abilities in executing timeliness and dedication while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service. Silver Torch Award recipients are selected based on a review of national records, requiring that the chapter meet all of the national minimum standards and deadlines. The Ichabod Chapter was previously presented this award in 2009.

The Project Excellence Award, given for a chapter’s notable achievement in scholarship, leadership, service, fundraising, the Reading is Leading national project, alumni involvement or Mortar Board week activities. The Ichabod chapter was recognized with its regional group, Section 17, for a project benefiting Harvesters, a Kansas City community food bank.

Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the Society has grown from four to 229 chartered collegiate chapters with more than a quarter-million members across the nation.

The Ichabod Chapter at Washburn University was chartered in 2006 and currently has 47 members.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include pioneering engineer Lillian Gilbreth, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Emmy-winning actor Rue McClanahan, astronauts Judith Resnik and Janice Voss, adventurer Aron Ralston and lifestyle expert Bruce Littlefield. Learn more about Mortar Board at


Dena Anson, university relations, 785-670-1711