Forrest Scene

May 2012 News Releases

Student Government Association names new president, vice president, staff and senators

Washburn University juniors Eric Benedict, Wichita, and Caprice Cortez, Topeka, have been elected president and vice president, respectively, of the Washburn Student Government Association (WSGA). Their term of office runs from April 2012 to April 2013.

Members of the WSGA staff include (listed below by hometown):

Haysville: Shelbie Konkel, chief of staff

Mound City: Jessie McGown, budget director

Shawnee: Cassandra White, special events director

Topeka: Micah Offermann, public relations director

Wichita: Anthony Ho, administrative assistant

Seventeen senators also were elected as WSGA senators (listed below by hometown):

Alma: Rosemary Henderson

Bonner Springs: Brett R. Johnson

Council Grove: Betsy Wooden

Downs: Jon Trotter

Ellsworth: Ashley Habiger

Great Bend: Randi Ann McAfee

Hugoton: Ty Concannon

Olathe: David Haase

Parsons: Jared Dechant

Rossville: Chris Bird

Salina: Adam J. Fritz

Silver Lake: Josh Rosebaugh

Stockton: Hayley Strutt

Topeka: Mackenzie Sloan

Troy: Garrett Fenley

Wichita: Katie Lawless

Wuhan, China: Binbin Wu


Eric Benedict, president, Washburn Student Government Association, 785-670-1169

Amanda Hughes, university relations, 785-670-2153