Forrest Scene

April 2012 News Releases

Leadership Challenge Event winners

Twelve high schools and six colleges from Kansas, Illinois, Missouri and Nebraska competed in Washburn University Leadership Institute’s Leadership Challenge Event,® (LCE®), March 29-30 at Washburn University. At LCE® the students gained perspective on their personal leadership strengths, weaknesses and styles and they had to compete to fulfill the challenges and overcome the obstacles placed before them in a manner that demonstrates exemplary leadership knowledge and execution.


One high school team and one college team were selected as winners of LCE®. Each member of the winning high school team will receive a scholarship to Washburn. Teams in each division also were awarded a team collaboration award and team communication award. All students received participant medals.


Topeka Community Foundation, Leadership Challenge Event® Champions
College Division: Fort Hays State University, Hays, Kan.

High School Division: Hayden High School, Topeka

St. Francis Health Center Award for Team Communication

College Division: McKendree University, Lebanon, Ill. (Team 1)

Joe & Jillain Williams Award for Team Communication

High School Division: Topeka West High School

INTRUST Bank Award for Team Collaboration

College Division: York College, York, Neb.

BNSF Railway Award for Team Collaboration

High School Division: Washburn Rural High School, Topeka

Students who participated (listed by high school):
Benton High School, St. Joseph, Mo.: Trinity Dowell, Courtney Higgins, McKynzie Inscho, Cameron Pike, Myleigh Lanham

Cair Paravel Latin School, Topeka: Caleb Fleming, Rachel Orr, Billy McElroy, Bridget Cornwell, Sarah Walker

Campus High School, Wichita: Shelby Bettles, Cassandra Nguyen, Chad Vaught, Josh Woods, Yesenia Ybarra

Caney Valley High School, Caney, Kan.: Bethany Barlow, Kayla Clapp, Alexis Grant, Diseree Nelson, Makenzie Vining

Hayden High School, Topeka: Brogan Barry, Zach Dodd, Zach Haverkamp, Lauren Hutley, Brooke LaRue

Highland Park High School, Topeka: Desiree Abbott, Dakota Barker, Demarus Kelley, Juan Cedillo, Caleb Roberts

Louisburg High School, Lindsburg: Lindsey Allen, Kieran, Bradley, Amelia Baumgardner, Jaden Scott, Regan Wertz

Shawnee Heights High School, Topeka: Joseph Anguiano, Jessica Mechler, Zach Haney, Shelby Perez, Courtney Pfluke

Topeka High School: Denise Alvarez, Carly Mott, Bryon Lewis IV, Kaitlyn Truesdell, Rachel Wiley

Topeka West High School: Brittany Bodenheimer, April dela Cruz, Jamie Ladner, Korrissa White, Kelli Young

Washburn Rural High School, Topeka: Taylor Legg, Joshua Marple, Tanner Reece, Maria Stoica, Vishnu Vallatharasan

Wellington High School, Wellington: Gracie Defore, Chayse Easterly, Abby Hain, Haley Horning, Mitchell Norris

Students who participated (listed by college):
Donnelly College, Kansas City, Kan.: Daniela Duarte, Christen Lacy, Ivan Medrano Velazquez, Cristopher Miller, Jonathon Westbrook

Fort Hays State University, Hays: Laura Dougherty, Tyson Miller, Jill Moeder, Jason Dreiling, Levi Unruh

McKendree University Team 1, Lebanon, Ill.: Arie Balazi, Jacob Miller, Kirsten Ratermann, Matt Roddy, Tyler Wallin

McKendree University Team 2, Lebanon, Ill.: Michelle Allen, Mari Dehn, Zane Maus, Emily Sutton, Megan Zurliene

Metropolitan Community College, Kansas City, Kan.: Taylor Blakely, Reba Carney, Caleb Carter, Heather Mynatt, Nik Psaltis

York College, York, Neb.: Sandy Chang, Tyler Cox, Troy Kelly, Matthew Miller, Miles Negley

Washburn University: Mindy Barks, Morgan Brown, Albany Cummings, Leah Piper, Justin Salum

Leadership Challenge Event®:

LCE® was created to encourage leadership development by offering participants education, hands-on experience and recognition in a competitive environment. LCE® simulates the real-world process of leadership through a two-day event consisting of a half-day leadership conference, followed by a full-day live, interactive leadership simulation competition. LCE® was designed by students in the Washburn Leadership Institute. The LCE® simulation is a unique interactive leadership competition unlike any other leadership development event. Not only did LCE® showcase future leaders, it enhanced networking opportunities for all participants, including students, advisers and more than 40 student and 60 community volunteers.

Washburn University Leadership Institute:

The Washburn University Leadership Institute strives to establish innovative platforms for leadership education focused on the development of future leaders and progressive leadership methods. Its mission is to develop students into ethical, caring, and diverse leaders prepared to immediately assume leadership roles in today’s changing society by cultivating the study of leadership and facilitating transformational learning experiences.

LCE® was sponsored by BA Designs, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas, BNSF Railway, Capital City Bank, Capitol Federal Savings Foundation, Educational Credit Union, Go Topeka EMBD, Hallmark Cards, INTRUST Bank, Joe and Jillain Williams, Leadership Greater Topeka Class of 2012, Lyndon State Bank, Security Benefit Corp., St. Francis Health Center, Sunflower Marketing, Topeka Community Foundation, Washburn Memorial Union and Chartwells Dining, Washburn University Foundation, Washburn University Office of Admissions, Washburn University Office of Student Life, Wayne and Kristin Basso, Westar Energy, and Westside Stamp and Awards.

For more information, contact Jeff Mott, director, Washburn Leadership Institute, at (785) 670-2001.

- 30 -

Contact: Amanda Hughes, university relations, (785) 670-2153