Forrest Scene

April 2012 News Releases

Three Washburn alumni to be honored

Three Washburn alumni and a former professor and department chairman will be honored during the Alumni Awards banquet on 6 p.m. Saturday, April 28, at the Memorial Union.

Awards and honorees are as follows:

Distinguished Service Award: Cindy (Tilson) Rogers, ba ’69. Rogers worked with the mentally ill and severely disabled for nearly 20 years at Menninger Return to Work Center and Kansas Rehabilitation Services. She is a former president of the Washburn Alumni Association and serves the community in numerous capacities, including the Washburn Women’s Alliance.

Lilla Day Monroe Award: Doris (Heck) Hedberg, b ed ’72. Hedberg was the director of the children’s choir at First United Methodist Church and was married to the late Floyd Hedberg, a Washburn alumnus and chairman of the Department of Music. Her ties to the performing arts community including serving on the board for the Sunflower Music Festival and Topeka Symphony League.

Col. John Ritchie Award: Howard Faulkner. Faulkner taught at Washburn for nearly 40 years, including several years as the chairman of the Department of English and the director of the Master of Liberal Studies program. He has authored, co-authored or edited dozens of books and articles during his career. Faulkner was a Fulbright professor three times, teaching in Morocco, Bulgaria and Macedonia.

Graduate of the Last Decade: Trey Cocking, bs ’02. Cocking is the city manager for the City of Atchison, serving as chief executive officer of the community. He oversees a $16-million budget and manages more than 100 full-time employees. Cocking is a member of the Kansas Association of City Managers and the ex-officio director of the Atchison Chamber of Commerce, among other service efforts.


Dena Anson, (785) 670-1711

Susie Hoffmann, Washburn Alumni Association, (785) 670-1643