Washburn University Staff Council Meeting Minutes

August 8, 2023

Members Present – Eileen Brouddus, Holly Broxterman, Gayle Davis, Raelyn Dutra, Kaydee Emperley, Luther Lee, Teresa Lee, Christina Pirtle, Nancy Province, Carissa Schmidtlein

Members Not Present – Matt Busey, Justin Kingsbury, Cory Payne, Gayla Sarkesian, Christa Smith, James Thayer, Mark Warren

Guests – Joshua Huston, Roqshana Mahua, Dan Wrenholt

- I. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Eileen Brouddus at 3:00 pm.
- II. Roll Call
 - a. Attendance was taken by Zoom chat & for those who joined in-person at Lincoln Room.
- III. Approval of July 11 meeting minutes (Motion)
 - a. Voting
 - i. Motion Gayle Davis
 - ii. Second Kaydee Emperley
- IV. Committee Reports:
 - a. Chair Report Eileen Brouddus
 - Eileen shared the proposal of the Parental Leave working group to add to existing benefits. President Mazachek was receptive to the idea and will discuss with necessary stakeholders. Eileen thanked all members who assisted with preparing the research and proposal. Teresa gave a shout out, thanking the working group who primary and secondary caregivers, they provided a great proposal for Teresa to review (Great job to Gayle, Kaydee, Christa!)
 - ii. Updates from President Mazachek:
 - 1. Strategic Planning will be a big emphasis in this academic year. More information will come throughout the semester.
 - 2. Search for new Provost.
 - 3. Construction on Henderson and old law school (1731 Plass Building).
 - 4. Website re-design, working with EAB to rework and get more wow-factor.
 - Shawnee County scholarships She was not able to provide enrollment numbers at this time, we'll wait until Census Day (20th day of classes). This year, there were more students who attended New Student Orientation and more students living in Residential Living.
 - 6. Staff Council elections will be happening in October.
 - 7. Cynthia Holthaus will be attending our Staff Council meetings to provide support going forward.
 - b. Board of Regents Meeting Update Eileen Brouddus
 - i. No updates.
 - ii. Next WUBOR meeting will be September 14 4:00 p.m.
 - c. All Faculty/Staff Email/Posting Committee Eileen Brouddus, Christa Smith
 - i. No updates.
 - d. Benefits Committee Eileen Brouddus, Matt Busey, Kaydee Emperley

- i. No updates.
- e. Food Advisory Committee Nancy Province
 - i. No updates.
- f. Parking Ticket Committee Holly Broxterman
 - i. No updates.
- g. Safety Committee Chris Pirtle
 - i. No updates.

V. New Business:

- a. Elections Constituents with expiring terms
 - i. Please look at the website to verify if your term is listed correct for your area. Let Eileen know if anything is incorrect.

Area	Representative	Term Expires	Buildings
	Carissa Schmidtlein,		
Exempt B	Secretary	30-Sep-23	Morgan Hall
			Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center
			Garvey Fine Arts Center
			Mulvane Art Museum
			International House
Exempt D	Christa Smith	30-Sep-23	Memorial Student Union
Exempt F	Matt Busey	30-Sep-23	Washburn Tech
			Petro Allied Health Center
			Residential Living (all buildings)
			Student Recreation & Wellness Center
			Whiting Field House
Non-Exempt A	Nancy Province	30-Sep-23	Indoor Athletic Facility
Non-Exempt F	Gayla Sarkesian	30-Sep-23	Memorial Student Union, Mabee Library
Non-Exempt J	Mark Warren	30-Sep-23	Washburn Tech

- b. Questions from constituents
 - i. Reimbursement for tuition paid to take courses at another institution when the degree program in question is not offered at Washburn.
 - 1. When constituents make inquiry about new initiative, please try to get as much information as you can in understanding the situation.
 - 2. Are there resources for the required class materials (i.e. textbooks) ?

VI. Old Business:

- a. Update from Parental Leave working group
- b. Replacement for Non-Exempt D Morgan Hall (Last Name I to O)
- VII. Informational Items:
 - a. Next Meeting: September 12, 2023, 3:00 4:00 pm via Zoom Video Conference and in the Lincoln Room, Memorial Union
- VIII. Adjournment (Motion)
 - a. Motion Carissa Schmidtlein
 - b. Second Chris Pirtle

Minutes submitted by Staff Council Secretary Carissa Schmidtlein.