Washburn University Staff Council Meeting Minutes

April 11, 2023

Members Present – Eileen Brouddus, Holly Broxterman, Matt Busey, Deana Cannon, Gayle Davis, Kaydee Emperley, Justin Kingsbury, Teresa Lee, Cory Payne, Christina Pirtle, Carissa Schmidtlein

Members Not Present – Nancy Province, Gayla Sarkesian, Christa Smith, Mark Warren

Guests - Joshua Huston

- I. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Eileen Brouddus at 3:02 pm.
- II. Roll Call
 - a. Attendance was taken by Zoom chat & for those who joined in-person at Lincoln Room.
- III. Approval of February 14 and March 14 minutes (Motion)
 - a. Voting
 - i. Motion Cory Payne
 - ii. Second Holly Broxterman
 - iii. Votes
 - 1. Yay 11
 - 2. Nay -0
 - 3. Abstain 0
 - b. Voting
 - i. Motion Gayle Davis
 - ii. Second Holly Broxterman
 - iii. Votes
 - 1. Yay 11
 - 2. Nav 0
 - 3. Abstain 0
- IV. Committee Reports:
 - a. Chair Report Eileen Brouddus
 - b. Board of Regents Meeting Update Eileen Brouddus
 - i. Dr. Mazachek's campus plan for improvement with campus construction and future plans.
 - ii. <u>Upcoming Town Hall Meetings</u>: April 17, 2023 from 8:30-9:30 am and 4:00-5:00 pm in Washburn B and April 25 from 12:00-1:00 pm in Washburn B.
 - iii. Congratulations to the newly tenured faculty.
 - iv. WSGA is planning to increase activity fee, equal amount of tuition increase, no more than 3 percent. WUBOR agreed with change and passed student fee increase.
 - v. Next WUBOR meeting is May 4, 2023.
 - c. All Faculty/Staff Email/Posting Committee Eileen Brouddus, Christa Smith
 - i. No updates.
 - d. Benefits Committee Eileen Brouddus, Matt Busey, Kaydee Emperley
 - i. Meeting scheduled for April 25, 2023.
 - e. Food Advisory Committee Nancy Province

- Update from Janel Rutherford. There are a few end-of-the-year events coming including the Graduation Buffet which is May 11 for Washburn Tech and May for the Washburn University campus. Reservations can be made online.
- f. Parking Ticket Committee –Vacant
 - i. No updates.
 - ii. Needing to find a replacement for committee member.
- g. Safety Committee Vacant
 - i. No updates.
 - ii. Need to find a replacement for committee member.

V. New Business:

- a. Bylaws update (tabled from March 14 meeting)
 - Add verbiage to reflect membership change: The Director of Human Resources and Vice President of Administration and Treasurer will serve in an advisory capacity as non-voting members of Staff Council.
 - ii. Voting
 - 1. Motion Justin Kingsbury
 - 2. Second Cory Payne
 - 3. Votes
 - a. Yay 11
 - b. Nay 0
 - c. Abstain 0
- b. Employee Recognition Ceremony Wednesday, May 2, 2023
 - i. Staff council to review nominations Volunteers Carissa Schmidtlein, Christa Smith, Kaydee Emperley, Gayle Davis, Holly Broxterman. Winners identified by 4/21.
 - ii. Volunteers to greet people and pass out programs Carissa Schmidtlein, Cory Payne, Eileen Brouddus.
- c. Questions from constituents
 - i. Exempt staff are paid monthly and non-exempt are paid bi-weekly. Is there a specific reason for this? Concern was about people not wanting to move up to exempt position due to monthly pay period.
 - 1. Non-exempt staff used to be paid monthly but it was changed around 2003 when Banner was implemented. The Fair Labor Standards Act identifies when a position is classified as exempt vs. non-exempt and when paying overtime is not required. Non-exempt staff need to track hours worked per week for determination of overtime vs. exempt staff only needing to track hours taken off.
 - 2. Faculty are paid monthly since their contracts are August 1-May 31, therefore their pay periods work easiest on monthly basis.

VI. Old Business:

- a. Parental leave Any interest in forming a working group to research parental leave and possibly make a proposal?
 - i. Working group volunteers Eileen Brouddus, Kaydee Emperley, Gayle Davis & Christa Smith
- b. Replacement for Indigo Wilson-Schmidt, Exempt A whose last day was January 13. This representative covers Art, Petro, SRWC, Whiting, and Indoor Athletic Facility and the term expires September 30, 2024.

c. Replacement for Debi Feyh - Non-Exempt C, moved to an exempt position in Purchasing 4/17/23. This representative covers Morgan Hall (Last Name A to H) and the term expires September 30, 2024.

VII. Informational Items:

a. Next Meeting: May 9, 2023, 3:00 – 4:00 pm via Zoom Video Conference and in the Lincoln Room, Memorial Union

VIII. Adjournment (Motion)

- a. Motion Kaydee Emperley
- b. Second Eileen Brouddus

Minutes submitted by Staff Council Secretary Carissa Schmidtlein.