International Summer Institute

Program Coordinator and Assistants

Program Coordinator

Andy Vogel
Retention & Recruitment Coordinator for Office of International Programs

Program Assistants


Hello, my name is Katelyn Rollins and I am an undergraduate student at Washburn University. I am studying English Education and Math Education. I completed my second year at Washburn as of last month. While at Washburn, I am a member of many programs like the University Honor’s program and the Leadership Institute. Also, I observe Intensive English classes with the international students twice a week. Since the beginning of high school, my interest in foreign cultures has increased. After graduating from Washburn, I want to earn my master’s degree in Teaching English as a Second Language and teach overseas. I was given the opportunity to become an international student myself this past year. During the fall semester of 2014, I studied abroad in Ireland for 4 months. Also, I travelled to England, Northern Ireland, and Scotland during Christmas break.

I absolutely love watching sports. My favorite sports would be football, American football, and baseball.  Growing up, I played softball for 10 years. I also was a cheerleading for 4 years during high school. I don’t have a favorite food exactly, but I love anything my mother or grandma cooks. I learned to love to a lot of Irish homemade dishes, as well. I like to eat a wide variety of food from different cultures. Also, I have a wide variety of books I enjoy reading like A Thousand Splendid Suns, and Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini,  The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, and any of Nicholas Spark’s novels. Really, I am not picky about the types of books I read, movies I watch, or music I listen to. For movies, I enjoy action, comedy, romance, and foreign films! For music, I really like American pop, classic 80’s music, and Spanish music.


Hello, my name is Lauren Barr. I am an undergraduate student at Washburn University. I will be a sophomore next semester. I am currently working towards a business minor and plan to major in Japanese. I was an exchange student in Japan for five months when I was in high school. I loved it and wish I could go back immediately. However, I do not have the money to visit again soon, so this is the second best thing. I love volunteering and learning about other cultures. Because of this, I volunteer at the International House twice a week to tutor English. I love many foods, so it is hard to pick a favorite, my favorite colors are green and blue, and I enjoy playing piano and traveling.