Scholarship Opportunities in the Biology Department

Majors within the Biology Department and pre-health professional students are eligible for a variety of scholarships based on academic performance and career pursuits.

Application Process:

Students must submit a scholarship application in order to be considered for scholarship funds.  Generally, scholarship funds are awarded in the Spring semester on a yearly basis. The Scholarship Committee meets in March to select scholarship awardees based on the criteria for each scholarship fund.  Scholarship letters are typically distributed to students in mid-April for awards to be made for the following academic year.

Maintaining a Scholarship:

Continuation of scholarships is predicated on the student continuing to make progress within their major, maintaining a good GPA, and maintaining full-time status.  In some cases, students enrolled part-time who are still making progres on their degree may be awarded pro-rated scholarships.

Scholarship Recipients:

These scholarships are made possible by the generosity of Washburn alumni and friends.  The Biology Department thanks all those donors who support our Scholarship Funds through the Washburn University Foundation.  Recipients are asked to write a brief Thank You Note to the donors; lack of follow-through may result in revocation of the scholarship.

Interested in Supporting Our Biology Scholarship Program?

If you would like to begin a new or enhance an existing scholarship, please contact either the Biology Department Chair ( or the Washburn University Foundation.  Thank you.

Biology Department Scholarship Funds:

We distribute monies from the following scholarship funds:

  • Sarah Lu Carter Scholarship Fund
  • Dr. Robert H. Glazier Scholarship Fund
  • Shawnee Sportsmen Incorporated Scholarship Fund
  • Chalres S. & Doris F. Joss Scholarship Fund
  • Dr. Glenn S. Millice Memorial Scholarship fund
  • Shipley-Hocker Scholarship Fund
  • Topeka Audubon Society Pear Maus Scholarship Fund
  • Jane Ayers McAleavey & Frank L. McAleavey Scholarship Fund
  • Sheldon and Virginia Cohen Scholarship Fund for Excellence in Biology
  • Frances & Helen Rigby Scholarship Fund

Biology Department Scholarshiop Committee

Dr. Tracy Wagner, Chair
Dr. Susan Bjerke
Dr. Rodrigo Mercader
Ms. Wendy Stafford

Color Photo of the North Face of Stoffer Science Hall in Autumn

2016-2017 Senior Scholarship Award Winners
Photo of Senior Scholarship Winners

(L-R) Lauren Zeller, Elliot Konrade, Rachel Beiker, and Dr. John Mullican. Lauren and Elliot are the co-recipients of the 2016-2017 Senior Scholarship Award. The Awards were presented to Lauren and Elliot by Rachel, the 2015-2016 Senior Scholarship Awardee.

2016-2017 Dean's Scholarship Award Winners
Photo of Dean's Scholarship Award Winners from Biology

(L-R) Hannah McIntyre, Jeremy Lickteig, Marija Crockett, Tyler Brown, Elliot Konrade, Ken Schmanke, Dr. Laura Stephenson, and Dr. John Mullican. Hannah, Jeremy, and Tyler each received a Dean Scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year. The Awards were presented by Dr. Laura Stephenson, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and the recipients from the previous year, Elliot, Ken, and Marija.