Biology

Faculty & Staff

[Full-time Faculty] [Part-time Faculty]

Color group photo of Biology Department Faculty and Staff

Biology Department Faculty and Staff:

Front row: Ms. Ashley Lovich (Lab Supervisor), Dr. Lee Boyd (Professor), Dr. Kiley Hicks (Visiting Assistant Professor), Ms. Erica Jackson (Lecturer), Dr. Takrima Sadikot (Assistant Professor), Dr. Tracy Wagner (Assistant Professor)

Second row: Ms. Wendy Stafford (Senior Administrative Assistant), Dr. Jason Emry (Assistant Professor), Dr. Susan Bjerke (Associate Professor), Dr. Bob Flahart (Lecturer), Dr. Matt Arterburn (Associate Professor), Dr. Rodrigo Mercader (Assistant Professor), Dr. Kellis Bayless (Lecturer)

Back row: Dr. Andrew Herbig (Assistant Professor), Dr. Duane Hinton (Lecturer), Dr. John Mullican (Associate Professor & Chair), Dr. Kristin Barkus (Lecturer), Dr. Paul Wagner (Assistant Professor)

Not pictured: Dr. Ursula Jander (Professor Emerita)

 

Full-Time Faculty Members:

Color photo of Dr. John Mullican
Dr. John Mullican, Associate Professor & Chair
(Ph.D. University of Nebraska Medical Center)
Molecular Biology
Office: ST 202A
Phone: 785 670.2079
john.mullican@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Matt Arterburn
Dr. Matthew Arterburn, Associate Professor
(Ph.D. Washington State University)
Genetics
Office: ST 202C
Phone: 785 670.3110
matt.arterburn@washburn.edu

Color Photo of Dr. Kristin Barkus

Dr. Kristin Barkus, Lecturer
(Ph.D. University of Kansas)
Developmental Biology
Office: ST 301E
Phone: 785 670.1749
kristin.barkus@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Kellis Bayless
Dr. Kellis Bayless, Lecturer
(Ph.D. University of Kansas)
Plant Ecophysiology
Office: ST 203A
Phone: 785 670.2169
kellis.bayless@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Susan Bjerke
Dr. Susan Bjerke, Associate Professor
(Ph.D. University of Iowa)
Virology
Office: ST 203F
Phone: 785 670.2078
susan.bjerke@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Lee Boyd
Dr. Lee Boyd, Professor
(Ph.D. Cornell University)
Animal Behavior
Office: ST 202E
Phone: 785 670.2081
lee.boyd@washburn.edu
Color Photo of Dr. Jason Emry
Dr. Jason Emry, Assistant Professor
(Ph.D. University of Kansas)
Plant Ecology
Office: ST 203H
Phone: 785 670.2163
jason.emry@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Bob Flahart
Dr. Robert Flahart, Lecturer
(Ph.D. Vanderbilt University)
Microbiology
Office: ST 202F
Phone: 785 670.2164
bob.flahart@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Andrew Herbig
Dr. Andrew Herbig, Assistant Professor
(Ph.D. Cornell University)
Microbiology
Office: ST 202B
Phone: 785 670.1769
andrew.herbig@washburn.edu
 
Color photo of Dr. Kiley Hicks
Dr. Kiley Hicks, Visiting Lecturer
(Ph.D. Portland State University)
Biology
Office: ST 301D
Phone: 785 670.1740
kiley.hicks@washburn.edu
 
Color photo of Dr. Duane Hinton
Dr. Duane Hinton, Lecturer
(Ph.D. University of Kansas Medical Center)
Anatomy
Office: ST 203G
Phone: 785 670.2165
duane.hinton@washburn.edu
 
Color Photo of Ms. Erica Jackson
Ms. Erica Jackson, Lecturer
(M.A. Emporia State University)
Anatomy
Office: ST 203J
Phone: 785 670.2166
erica.jackson@washburn.edu
 
Color photo of Dr. Ursula Jander
Dr. Ursula Jander, Associate Professor Emerita
(Ph.D. University of Freiburg (Germany)
Insect Behavior
Office: ST 202B
Phone: 785 670.2082
ursula.jander@washburn.edu
 
Color photo of Dr. Rodrigo Mercader
Dr. Rodrigo Mercader, Assistant Professor
(Ph.D. Michigan State University)
Entomology
Office: ST 203D
Phone: 785 670.2091
rodrigo.mercader@washburn.edu
 
Color photo of Dr. Takrima Sadikot
Dr. Takrima Sadikot, Assistant Professor
(Ph.D. University of Missouri at Kansas City)
Molecular Biology
Office: ST 203E
Phone: 785 670.2082
takrima.sadikot@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Paul Wagner
Dr. Paul Wagner, Assistant Professor
(Ph.D. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
Physiology
Office: ST 202D
Phone: 785 670.1752
paul.wagner@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Tracy Wagner
Dr. Tracy Wagner, Assistant Professor
(Ph.D. University of Kentucky)
Physiology
Office: ST 202D
Phone: 785 670.1752
tracy.wagner@washburn.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty Members:

Color photo of Ms. Valerie Acors
Ms. Valerie Acors, Adjunct Lecturer
(M.S. Biology, Purdue University)
(M.S. Physiology, Med. College of Virginia)
Teaches: Physiology
Office: ST 202
Phone: 785 670.2077
valerie.acors@washburn.edu
Color photo of Ms. Katy Herbig
Ms. Katy Herbig, Adjunct Lecturer
(M.S. Nutritional Sciences, Cornell University)
Teaches: Introductory Biology Lab
Office: ST 202
Phone: 785 670.2077
katy.herbig@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Danny Najera
Dr. Danny Najera, Adjunct Lecturer
(Ph.D. University of Kansas - EEOB)
Teaches: Biology of Behavior, Evolution
Office: ST 202
Phone: 785 670.2077
daniel.najera@washburn.edu
Color photo of Mr. Art Sandquist
Mr. Art Sandquist, Adjunct Lecturer
(M.S. Natural Science, University of Oklahoma)
Teaches: Introduction to Biology
Office: ST 202
Phone: 785 670.2077
art.sandquist@washburn.edu
Color Photo of Ms. Judith Scherff
Ms. Judy Scherff, Adjunct Lecturer
(M.A. Systematics & Ecology, University of Kansas)
(M.A. Social Science, Pittsburgh State University)
Teaches: Human Impact on the Environment
Office: ST 202
Phone: 785 670.2077
judith.scherff@washburn.edu
Color photo of Dr. Elton Taylor
Dr. Elton Taylor, Adjunct Lecturer
(D.C. Cleveland Chiropractic College)
Teaches: Anatomy, Introduction to Biology
Office: ST 202
Phone: 785 670.2077
elton.taylor@washburn.edu