Ichabods In Depth

Published Dec. 14, 2012

Jana Latendresse receives Sibberson Award

Jana LatendresseJana Latendresse, Topeka, was presented the Sibberson Award at Washburn University’s 2012 fall commencement Friday, Dec. 14. This prestigious award recognizes the highest-ranking members of the senior class in the undergraduate program who completed degrees during the most recent academic year. Kelli Coldiron, Wichita, and Mollie Lacy, Lincoln, Neb., also were finalist for the fall 2012 Sibberson Award.  

Latendresse graduated with a bachelor of science degree in nursing. In the future, she plans to work in obstetrics and then pursue a graduate degree as a Certified Nurse Midwife and a doctoral degree. 

Latendresse participated in the Trans-Atlantic Dual Degree Program and spent an academic year abroad attending classes in Northern Ireland and Hungary. She also completed her International Education Washburn Transformational Experience by participating in the Trans-Atlantic Dual Degree Program and will receive a bachelor of science degree from the University of Szeged in Hungary upon graduation from Washburn.  

Latendresse served as a member of Alpha Lambda Delta, Mortar Board, Phi

Kappa Phi and Sigma Theta Tau. She was a representative on the Dean’s Council for the School of Nursing and was a member of the Student Nurses of Washburn (SNOW), Circle K and Future Alumni Network. Latendresse received the Maria Leonard Senior Book Award in spring 2012, which is awarded to the Alpha Lambda Delta member with the highest grade point average in their respective graduating class. From fall 2009 to spring 2012, Latendresse also was a member of the Washburn choir.  

While at Washburn, Latendresse also received the Clousing WEA Scholarship, Presidential Scholarship, A. Thomas WEA Scholarship, Rowley Nursing Scholarship, Kansas Nursing Service Scholarship and Givens WEA Scholarship.  

The Sibberson Award honors the highest ranking member of the senior class in the undergraduate program at Washburn. Sibberson awards are presented at each commencement. The Sibberson award was established through the T. Erna and Gretchen O.A. Sibberson Trust. The Sibbersons were both 1937 graduates of Washburn.