Published Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Washburn Student Government Association elections underway

WSGA LogoBeginning at 8 a.m. Wednesday and continuing until noon Friday, Washburn students may vote for the 2014-2015 Washburn Student Government Association representatives.

Simply go to the ballot or stop by a polling location on campus.

President Shelbie Konkel said new polling locations have been added this year in an effort to boost voter participation on campus. In addition to the Memorial Union main level, voting stations will be available at Henderson Learning Resources Center, Mabee Library and the Student Recreation and Wellness Center (SRWC).

Records show that last year just 528 of more than 6,000 students voted.

Election results will be announced at 5 p.m. Friday in the lower level of the Memorial Union. The WSGA administration will transition from April 14-18 and newly elected officials will be sworn in at the meeting on April 23, Konkel said.

The candidates are:

President and Vice President

Cassandra White and Randi McAfee

Senate Candidates

  • Adam Fritz
  • Alex Crume
  • Alexa Bowen
  • Anthony Ho
  • Blair Capps
  • Blake Porter
  • Brendan Funk
  • Brooke Peele
  • Camille Cortez
  • Chris Bird
  • Connor Smith
  • Damian Barron
  • Garrett Fenley
  • Jamie Dickerson
  • Jared Dechant
  • John Shively
  • Jordan McDowell
  • Kennech Diec
  • Kyle Blocker
  • Megan Smith
  • Micha Offermann
  • Nick Morse
  • Sarah Edelman
  • Shelby Robke
  • Thomas Hall