Quest TV

Teams from 16 Kansas high schools compete in the televised games of Quest, which are broadcast by KTWU and Cox Communications cable channel 22.

The teams earning the highest scores in the Super Saturday qualifying event each December advance to the televised single-elimination tournament at later dates at KTWU studios on the Washburn campus.

Moderator is Laura Lorson. She is the local host of "All Things Considered" for Kansas Public Radio in Lawrence, and is a contributing commentator for National Public Radio. She was a quiz bowl contestant herself, both in high school and college. A devout believer in the importance of a classical liberal arts education, her academic background is in anthropology, philosophy, classics, biochemistry and art history.

Judge for the televised competitions is Donna LaLonde. She is an associate professor in the department of mathematics and statistics at Washburn and interim chairwoman of the education department.