Board of Regents

Washburn Board of Regents

By law, Washburn University is governed by a nine member Board of Regents. The Governor and the Mayor of the city of Topeka each appoint three members. One is the Mayor or a member of the city’s governing body. The Shawnee County Commission and the Kansas Board of Regents each appoint one member. The Kansas Regents’ appointee serves a one year term; all other members serve staggered four year terms.

The Washburn University Board of Regents
The Washburn Board of Regents. From left to right, front row: Robba Moran, Blanche Parks, Pam Trusdale, Jennifer Sourk. Back row: Paul Hoferer, William Sneed, Brent Boles, Larry Wolgast, John McGivern

Gubernatorial Appointees:

William Sneed , Chair
John McGivern, Vice Chair
Brent Boles

Mayoral Appointees:


18th State Senate District
19th State Senate District
20th State Senate District

Jennifer Sourk
Blanche C. Parks
Paul Hoferer

County Commission Appointee:

Terry Beck


Larry Wolgast

Kansas Regent Appointee:

Robba Moran